Cricket's Drawings

-a better blog title!

So many sketches!

8 Comments

Hi! It’s been awhile. I’ve been working on lots of sketches and stuff. I’ve also spent plenty of time on Paint Tool SAI, and I’m learning more as I go along.

Today plus the past few weeks or so, I’ve filled more than half of my thick sketchbook (that I bought January!) Some pages hold my characters, but the rest are from reference photos. They’re not all manga style people either. I sketched animals, landscapes, furniture, and plants. I also practiced with vanishing points. (very helpful!) Then, today I spent time on sketching VOCALOID characters. I didn’t trace, I copied a drawing by observing a photo, (just being clear O.O) and it’s all for practice. It helped a lot. Here’s a drawing before today’s reference photo drawing.

meh sketchIt’s okay…but kinda boring to me.

And here’s a recreation of the same character after practicing today.

Yay sketchDon’t mind the shadows of faces behind her. I drew them too hard to erase completely =.=ย  I like her face a lot!

Below are some of the sketches I drew from reference.

vocaloid sketch collageRef. photo drawings turn out better than my own drawings. Mine don’t flow as well, but today they seemed to catch up a little.

Bonus! I love this guy’s pose, and his face. It surprised me how well this turned out.

_some dude with a cool pose

So never stop practicing, and use the right side of your brain! (no time to explain, look it up if you’reย  curious enough.) And there are no shortcuts to developing real skill.

See ya!

Author: Cricket

I like reading, writing, and art-ing. (mostly art-ing)

8 thoughts on “So many sketches!

  1. Your style is so neat… It looks so nice… Good job ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Reblogged this on shadowblocky's Blog and commented:
    *o*

  3. Hey! Long time no talk. ;D

    Just wondering,. how do you get pictures of your sketches so perfect? I use scanners and the lot, but they don’t seem to make my sketches as good as you have here. >.<

Speak if you must!

