Cricket's Drawings

-a better blog title!

Painting Girl in Ink

5 Comments

I feel confident that I’m improving! I sketched this right after my last blogging, but I was too lazy to post it. Well, here it is in different stages!

_painting sketch

This is the sketch. I forgot to add her eyebrows. I only realized they were missing when I was inking in the eyes.

_painting inked

The canvas looks a little weird. I can’t really fix it now unless I re-draw it digitally. This is the inked version before I added a little line weight and gray ink for shading. I’d like to get an extra fine pen. A small or fine was what I used, and it was a little too thick. If you’ll notice the very thin lines in her skirt…that was only accomplished by fast, light strokes. I was careful not to mark outside her skirt.

_painting finished

What do you think? I’d like to change a few parts, but this is the best I’ve done with my ink pens. And I’ve never drawn hair this nice. I just had to go slow and take it one chunky strand at a time.

Also, I’m starting to understand the flow of lines like folds in clothing or strands of hair. Since it’s manga-style, the hair can sort of defy gravity. It’s very fun playing with hair. To anyone who’s learning to draw, I spent a lot of my time looking at clothes and getting a sense of how it moves according to body movements. (Please remember that I’m still learning too) Experimenting on paper is also important. I have a few pages in my sketchbook where I just practiced folds in clothes. I think folds help to identify the type of cloth. In my drawing, there are plenty of folds (most of them are long), making her clothes look light and thin especially where it bunches up and overlaps at the bottom of her shirt. I hope you can see that it hangs loosely.

I want to talk about her face as well. The placement of the mouth seemed a little awkward at first, but I think it is where it belongs. It would definitely look weird for a mouth to be too high or low. Then her nose. I like its little curve into a point because it helps to give her an elf-look. But I think I draw noses like this most of the time, I should probably experiment.

Author: Cricket

I like reading, writing, and art-ing. (mostly art-ing)

5 thoughts on “Painting Girl in Ink

  1. Good job! I think it would be better if you had part of the hand showing.

  2. I really like her dress! I’ve always had trouble with folds in clothes, but you did a really nice job with it. I’d love to see more of your characters in sceneries, too!

Speak if you must!

