Cricket's Drawings

-a better blog title!

A little extra for the day.

Leave a comment

I haven’t really thought about my stories recently. Violet and Hiro’s story still needs development. I want it to have a lot of action and cool characters along with some plot twists.

Now that I’m talking about it, I’m feeling a little inspired. Maybe I’ll draw a picture of Violet and Hiro fighting a monster…yes! I will do that after Starry.

AND I wanted to share a poem I wrote four of five nights ago when I couldn’t sleep. It’s called Time’s Curse.  

I’m not really a poet. I just scribble a random idea down from time to time. I rhyme a little and I think I set up an okay rhythm. It’s all just for fun.

Some stuff I want you to know before reading: It’s about Tabitha who starts out as a little girl. I portrayed Time as a boy. I had Peter Pan in mind.

 

Tabitha thought a lot about time.

It was always on her mind.

Seconds, minutes, and hours flew by.

She almost wanted to cry,

For it was a never-ending cycle

that went on and on,

And her life was a tiny blip

Soon to be lost and forever gone.

Why did anything matter

If it was doomed to disappear,

While Time sailed forward

without any worry or fear?

“And Time’s going to leave me behind,”

Said Tabitha.

Her dismal words rang in Time’s ear,

So he flew down to meet her.

“I can imagine how you feel,”

Time said to Tabitha.

“I’ve known a lot of people

Who’ve said the same thing.”

Tabitha replied politely,

“That’s reassuring.”

But, in truth

She felt worried.

“Do you remember their names?”

Tabitha had to know.

If Time remembered,

Then he must care, she thought.

Time scratched his chin and said,

“No, I don’t remember one.”

This made Tabitha fall.

“My life will be trivial after all!”

“Don’t think like that!” Time cried.

“Life’s not about feeling sorry for yourself. I’m sure!”

“Then what’s life about?”

Tabitha listened with eager ears.

To her surprise, Time laughed.

“I haven’t a clue! I’ve had time to think too.”

Tabitha clutched her aging heart.

“What’ll I do?”

She raised her old, miserable eyes.

They met Time’s.

“You’ll be gone soon,” he said.

“Is there something you want?”

A sinister smile stretched across her face.

“I want you to remember me.”

“I’ll try my best. What’s your name?”

Time smiled back, unknowingly.

“Tabitha!” she screamed,

Throwing herself at him.

She snatched a nearby pair of scissors

and scratched her name across Time’s chest.

Time wailed with pain

until it was finished.

He finally fell to his knees

from pain and exhaustion.

Tabitha stood over him

full of satisfaction.

“I’ve wasted away thinking of you.

Now you’ll waste away thinking of me.”

When writing this poem, I was feeling all whimsical. The creepy curse ending just came out of nowhere, but I think it’s a wonderful character idea. I can almost picture the whole story about Time living with his curse. I’d also like to draw him.

So Tabitha has obsession about Time from when she was little. That’s how I pictured her in the beginning. She grows up and becomes more and more worried about dying, never to be significant or even remembered posthumous. (Family and friends will remember her, but they’ll eventually die too.) Then Time comes to meet her and hopefully cheer her up. She almost feels important since Time chose to talk to her, but she ends up hating him because he doesn’t care enough to remember any names. That’s why ,when she’s so miserable at her old age, she curses Time. I think his curse will cause him to age and eventually die, all the time being plagued by the thoughts of Tabitha.

 

Author: Cricket

I like reading, writing, and art-ing. (mostly art-ing)

Speak if you must!

